Western Astrology

In western astrology, there are 12 signs standing for 12 periods of a year. Stars are divided into many regions of different sizes, each called a constellation. Connecting all bright stars in a constellation with imaginary lines, different images in the shape of animals and objects are formed. People named each constellation according to its shape. The International Astronomical Union divided the sky into 88 constellations with precise boundaries, making every star belonging to a particular constellation.



Seen from Earth, the sun moves slowly in the Celestial Sphere (an outward projection of stars on a sphere) and passes through constellations, forming a large circle for a year. This circle is called Ecliptic. The Ecliptic is divided into twelve equal portions (each equivalent to 30 degrees); each portion was named after the closest constellation. All these twelve portions were called Ecliptic Constellations, according to which western horoscope theories developed.
The astrologists divide a year is into 12 periods, during each period the sun being in a constellation area. So everyone has a corresponding zodiacal sign according to the period his / her birthday lies in. The 12 signs are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. People believe that different sun signs of the zodiac present different characteristics and talents.



Ruling Elements

Western astrology uses four ruling elements: Fire, Air, Earth, Water. Each Western astrological sign is ruled by one of these elements.
FIRE: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius.Fire signs are characterized by Movement, Obsession, Energy.
Like fire itself, fire signs tend to be passionate, dynamic, and temperamental. Fire can keep you warm, or it can do great destruction. While fire burns out quickly without fuel to keep it going, it can also regenerate its power from the ashes. A single spark can set off a forest fire. As a result, fire signs need to be nurtured and managed carefully.
AIR: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius.Air signs are characterized by Receptiveness, Intellect, Aspiration.
Air signs are all about action, ideas, and motion—they are the “winds of change.” When a strong gust hits you, you can’t help but move. While some within their ranks may be true-life “airheads,” others are as powerful as a gravity-defying G-force. Air signs bring everyone a breath of fresh air when things start to get stale. Like the breeze, you can’t quite catch them, and you never know where they’ll drop you once they sweep you up. It will almost always been an adventure, though.
EARTH: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn.Earth signs are characterized by Function, Practicality, Solidity.
Earth signs keep it real. They are the “grounded” people on the planet, the ones who bring us down to earth and remind us to start with a solid foundation. Slow and steady, these “builders” are loyal and stable, and stick by their people through hard times. On good days, they’re practical; at worst, they can be materialistic or too focused on the surface of things to dig into the depths.
WATER: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces.Water signs are characterized by Emotion, Compassion, Perception.
Intuitive, emotional and ultra-sensitive, water signs can be as mysterious as the ocean itself. Like water, they can be refreshing, or they can drown you in their depths. These signs often have intense dreams and borderline-psychic intuition. Security is important to them—after all, water needs a container, or it dries up and disappears.

The Planets

Each sign in Western astrology is ruled by one or more of ten planets or heavenly bodies. These are the “stars” astrologers are always said to be gazing at. The planets influence a sign’s character. Their position in the heavens helps to predict the future.
Aries is ruled by Mars representing: Impulse, Action, Bravery
Taurus is ruled by Venus representing: Acceptance, Vanity, Love
Gemini is ruled by Mercury representing: the Intellect, Change, Adaptability
Cancer is ruled by the Moon representing: Receptivity, Emotion, Viscera
Leo is ruled by the Sun representing: Assertiveness, Will, Majesty
Virgo is ruled by Mercury representing: Analysis, Absorption, Logic
Libra is ruled by Venus representing: Sociability, Persuasion, Luxury
Scorpio is ruled by Mars and Pluto representing Courage, Creation, Passion
Sagittarius is ruled by Jupiter representing: Expansion, Vision, Justice
Capricorn is ruled by Saturn representing: Solitude, Rigidity, Ambition
Aquarius is ruled by Saturn and Uranus representing: Individuality, Cosmic Consciousness, Obligation
Pisces is ruled by Neptune and Jupiter representing: Enigma, Inspiration, Compassion
Western Sun Signs are based on the date, time and place you were born, and correspond to months of the year. Planetary configurations, specific to your birth date, help shape your individual character. Sun Signs have celestial names, corresponding mostly to constellations. They proceed through all 12 months of the year, starting with Aries and ending with Pisces.
Learn more below about the 12 sun signs and gain some fascinating insight into your own personality by selecting your star sign character below: